Search Store



news artists releases events press contact store

Track listing:

  1. The Resonance of Magicks – Piercing Membranes Between Worlds
  2. Messenger, Deceiver
  3. Idiot God
  4. The Dark Mother
  5. Devourer
  6. Him Who Shall Not Be Named
  7. Sleeper of N‘Kai
  8. Cthuga
  9. The Lurker at the Threshold
  10. Reclaiming the Old World – Despairing The New World

Middle Pillar Presents

The Unquiet Void - The Shadow-Haunted Outside

Jason Wallach, aka The Unquiet Void, delves once more into Lovecraft‘s Cthulhu mythos, evoking The Shadow-Haunted Outside. This is the fourth album from The Unquiet Void and the second of a proposed trilogy of records based upon the works of internationally renowned, cult horror writer H.P. Lovecraft.

As with the previous release, 2004’s Poisoned Dreams, Wallach has created dark ambient, instrumental pieces to accompany the other-worldy aspect of Lovecraft’s disturbing prose. The Shadow-Haunted Outside compositions were inspired by the stories The Dunwich Horror and The Whisper in Darkness and are brought to audio life through organic and non-organic means – synthesizers, tribal beats, and electronic loops of manipulated sounds. Guest contributors include Tara Vanflower and Mike Vanportfleet (formally of Lycia), Jesse Sola (of Numina), Bryin Dall (of A Murder Of Angels, Loretta's Doll, Thee Majesty) and James Babbo (of The Mirror Reveals).

“The Resonance of Magicks” begins the album with a summoning, an eerie chant calling the Old Ones through. “The Dark Mother” evokes a sad, ghostly memory drifting across an alien landscape representing Shub-Niggurath, also known as “the black goat of the wood that bears a thousand young.” Tara Vanflower (formerly of Lycia) contributed her voice to the track. A glimpse of the unknown peeks through in “Him Who Shall Not Be Named” - chugging along with driving sounds and beats, like an ectoplasmic train. And something is chewing on the edges of sanity in “Devourer”.

“The Lurker at the Threshold” is an epic soundscape piece that represents Yog-Sothoth as the guardian of the gate through which the Old Ones will return. Co-written with Bryin Dall (A Murder of Angels, Lorettas Doll) the tracks continually morphs as synths rise and fall portraying the ever-changing doors behind all. The album closes with a cosmic cliffhanger, “Reclaiming the Old World“ – a beautiful haunting melody that has the Old Ones stepping through to our world.

“when we cross the line to the boundless and hideous unknown – the shadow-haunted Outside – we must remember to leave our humanity and terrestrialism at the threshold.” ~ H.P. Lovecraft

The first pressing of the The Unquiet Void’s The Shadow-Haunted Outside is limited to 500 signed and numbered copies and is available from